PM Abiy Appoints Members of Committee for Recruiting NEBE Chairperson

Addis Ababa, November 6/2023 (ENA): Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed has appointed an eight-member recruiting committee to nominate a chairperson for the National Election Board of Ethiopia (NEBE).

The recruiting committee has already commenced work and will soon begin receiving proposed nominees, as indicated.

Article 102 of the Federal Constitution and Article 5/1 of the National Election Board of Ethiopia Establishment Proclamation 1133/2019 stipulate that the Prime Minister will appoint an independent committee to recruit candidates for members of the Board.

Accordingly, the prime minister appointed the eight-member recruitment committee. They are:

Priest Tagay Tadele, Chairperson

Professor Teketel Yohanes, Member 

Bayeh Bezabih, Member 

Dr. Yohanes Benti, Member  

Kassahun Follo, Member  

Erigbe Gebrehawariya, Member  

Engidaye Eshete, Member 

Engineer Melaku Ezezew, Member 

It is recalled that the former NEBE Chairperson Birtukan Mideksa had resigned from her post.  



Ethiopian News Agency