AU Commission Welcomes Visa-on-arrival Arrangement by Ethiopia

Addis Ababa October 12/2018 African Union (AU) Commission Chairperson Moussa Faki Mahamat has welcomed the announcement regarding the establishment of a visa-on-arrival regime for all African passport holders entering Ethiopia starting from the fiscal year 2018/19.

The announcement was made this week by President Mulatu Teshome to the joint session of the House of People’s Representatives and the House of Federation.

The Chairperson lauded Ethiopia for this measure and reiterated his appreciation to the member states that have taken steps to ease the travel of African citizens on the continent.

In a statement issued in connection with the establishment by Ethiopia of a visa on arrival regime for all African citizens, Mahamat urged all member states that have not yet done so to take similar steps.

The Chairperson added that he looks forward to the day when all Africans can freely circulate in their own continent.

In this respect, he underlined the need for all member states to become parties to the January 2018 Protocol to the Treaty Establishing the African Economic Community Relating to Free Movement of Persons, Right of Residence and Right of Establishment.

So far, 32 member states have signed this instrument, while Rwanda has ratified it. Fifteen ratifications are required for the entry into force of the protocol.